Live Session: Meridian – Saints Paul & Ann (House on the Hill Sessions)


Live sessions can often be approached in the same way as covers: Either you mimic the original despite the many differences between your style and that of the writer, or you reimagine the original entirely. In a way, a live session is an opportunity to cover yourself. Meridian gets this, and I’m glad to hear this reimagined version of Saints Paul & Ann, which is originally featured on their sophomore studio album The Cathedral.

For starters, the original features no banjo or brotherly harmony and the room sound is a lot more contained, so this session is a good deal ramped-up overall. However, the original’s intro shares time with the squealing and unsettling outro of Eyes Like Lakes (Room Within a Room) which forces the listener to sink into the calm of the track. It’s a calm that we immediately feel from this session, and just like that we’re balanced back out.

My favorite part of this session is the outro, because unless I’m mistaken it shows us what this song looks like when played live. A lot of new elements are added at this point. Banjo and harmonies from Max’s brother Jake are the obvious additions, but I love what they did with them. They didn’t just throw the right banjo chords over the guitar; they made it unique. They wrote the banjo in with pinch harmonics, creative dual-instrument downscales, and picking that sits in the mix very well. Other elements like call-and-response vocals and an extended outro make this a must-hear, especially if you’re a fan of their record.

My favorite part of this session is the outro, because unless I’m mistaken it shows us what this song looks like when played live.

Meridian is a killer alternative/folk band from Cleveland, OH. I had the pleasure of catching a sold-out show they played with Oberhofer at the Beachland Ballroom (one of my favorite overall lineups I’ve seen) and have enjoyed following their progress since. It’s actually one of my goals to play a show with these gents, so if you’re reading this… guys I promise not to get drunk and destroy your equipment if you let me join the bill.

Be sure to hop on this train now, you hipsters. I know how you feel when you get there early… time is running out on these guys:

THE CATHEDRAL

AGING TRUTHS

Meridian on Facebook
Backline on Facebook
Backline on Twitter
Backline on YouTube

Cheers,
Mark

Leave a comment